From the blog

SUDAN: Seven East African Nations Signs A Free Movement Of People Agreement

A gathering of the East Africa Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) has concluded in Khartoum, Sudan with the signing of a free movement agreement between the seven country member state to facilitate trade.

Speaking at a press conference that followed the meeting, IGAD secretary, Dr. Workneh Gebeyehu, said that ‘a free movement of people agreement and a ‘‘trans-human protocol’’ were signed by seven countries’ representatives with the exception of Uganda’s minister, who was absent from the meeting in Khartoum.

Gebeyehu provided no further details about the deals, which were signed behind closed doors but called it a “very big achievement for the region.”

IGAD Member Nation

East Africa’s Intergovernmental Authority on Development in Khartoum was attended by representatives from Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, and Sudan. The three-day meeting concluded on Friday November 2.

The next gathering will be held in 2023 in Djibouti.